AAENP Founder: Arlo Weltge

Dr. Arlo Weltge, M.D., MPH, FACEP is a Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine at UTHealth (University of Texas Medical School in Houston).  He holds academic appointments at the Baylor College of Medicine, UT Houston School of Nursing, and the Houston Community College Program in EMS.  

Education. Dr. Weltge is a graduate of MIT (BS in Life Science, 1975), UT Houston Medical School (MD 1978) and the UT Houston School of Public Health (MPH 1995).  He completed the Management Program (1988) at Rice Jesse Jones Business School and was in the  first American College of Emergency Physicians Teaching Fellowship (1989-1990).

Clinical Practice. He is a Board Certified Emergency Physician and currently practices as a clinical faculty in Emergency Medicine in the Memorial Hermann Hospital Texas Medical Center (MHH-TMC) ), a Level I Trauma Center and base for the Hermann Life Flight program, and the Harris County Hospital District’s (HCHD) LBJ General Hospital, both in Houston.

Professional. Dr. Weltge has served in a number of professional roles including serving as President of the Texas College of Emergency Physicians in 1993-1994 and as Council Officer and Speaker for the American College of Emergency Physicians and as Council Officer 2007-2011.  He is currently Vice Chair of the Harris County Medical Society’s delegation to the Texas Medical Association (TMA), and a member of the TMA delegation to the American Medical Association.

Community. Dr. Weltge has served on the Board of the Star of Hope Mission in Houston since 2006 and on the Executive Committee and as a Board Officer since 2011.  He also serves on the Board of the Houston Recovery Center LGC which recently opened a sobering center.

Personal. He is married and his wife, Janet Macheledt (MACK-el-LET) MD is a medical oncologist and hematologist practicing in Houston and they have three children.


            Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine, University of Texas Med School Houston

            Medical Director Program in EMS, Houston Community College & Adjunct Faculty

            Adjunct Clinical Professor, Acute & Continuing Care, UT Houston School of Nursing

            Adjunct Assistant Clinical Professor, Emergency Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine

            Medical Director, AMR Houston Operations


MIT BS Life Science 1975

MD UT Houston Medical School 1978

MPH UT School Public Health 1995

TMP: The Management Program, Rice Jones School of Business, 1989

ABMS Board Certified in:

            ABEM, Emergency Medicine, 1985, 1995, 2005 (to 2015)…

            ABPM Preventive Medicine/Occupational Medicine, 1999-2009

Positions and Boards

  Speaker, ACEP Council, 2009-2011, Council Officer American College of Emergency

             Physicians, 2007-2011

  Board of Directors, Officer, Star of Hope Mission, Houston Texas

  Board of Directors, Houston Sobering Center

  Past President Texas Chapter of ACEP

  Officer, Harris County Medical Society TMA Delegation, Vice-Chair 2012-2014

            Past Chair of the HCMS EMS Committee

  Texas Medical Association Alternate Delegate to the American Medical Association